Vanilla Lemon Zest Cupcake

It is not always easy to find a good recipe that comes with detailed instructions and most importantly trustable. Will be baking some cupcakes for mothers’ day and am confident of my chocolate cupcakes but not vanilla ones. My vanilla cupcakes always turn out to be brown cupcakes; or it always comes out deflated somewhat. I could never get a nice dome shape cupcake that I am proud of!

Anyhow; did some extensive reading and research and decided to go back to a trustable source – Annie’s eats. I have used some of her recipes and it always yields me great results!

So off I went in search of a vanilla cupcake! And I found this recipe of hers adapted from “joy of baking”. I tried it out and thought it would come out disastrous!

Firstly; my butter and sugar didn’t seem to beat really well. With the addition of the eggs, it became separated and non batter like. I was getting worried cos it looked really runny. I still trusted that it could turn out well and went ahead with the other steps of the addition of the flour and the milk and the batter started to come together!

The recipe stated about 12 cupcakes but I got 14 cupcakes!

I could not get why my cupcakes always became brown; so I decided to place another baking sheet above the cupcakes in the oven so as to block the top heating element from the cakes!

And it worked! The cupcakes took 15 minutes to cook and rose perfectly! The second batch was a little deflated cos I opened up the oven door half way to try to rotate the cupcake pan.. Bad idea for such an airy vanilla cake!

The lemon zest was an optional ingredient and I never ever did tried adding that before! Since I had lemon today; I decided to give it a shot!

Oh the result was amazing! The slight lemony tang to the cupcake really brought the taste to whole new level!!

Am definitely going to use this recipe quite often!

Recipe from: Annie’s Eats

Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients:
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
zest of 1 lemon (optional)
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
¼ cup milk
1-1 ½ recipes easy vanilla buttercream frosting

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°. Line a muffin tin with 12 paper liners. Set pan aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides and beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla extract and lemon zest, if using.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the flour mixture and milk, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter and bake for about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in pan 5 minutes. Transfer cupcakes to a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

Prepare frosting. Decorate cooled cupcakes as desired.

20120509-011900.jpg

20120509-011906.jpg

Leave a Reply

