In search for a simple butter cake

In short, I have baked 2 different butter cakes. And Mr Picky Taste Buds is still picking on texture and flavor. So the search went on! Had this recipe bookmarked quite some time ago; so off I went ahead again! This time round, the recipe is simple but requires more effort of sifting and folding!

At the back of my mind; there was a nagging feeling in me to fill the pan with only 3/4 of the batter.. Always under fill the batter when trying a new recipe! I trusted my impatient self and poured the entire batch into an 8inch round pan! Big mistake; the cake took 40mins to cook and the top and sides were over cooked! and of course the top of the cake erupted..

The saving grace was that the brown crumbs were actually delicious so the cake did not go to waste! Instead; it disappeared by the end of the day!

Verdict: Mr Picky Taste Buds liked it! And now in the oven just as I am typing this post; another one is being baked but this time in addition – I added silver bird’s mixed fruits to the batter for a butter fruit cake! Let’s see how that turns out!!!

20120503-162611.jpg

Leave a Reply

