The Banana cake

I’m not exactly a banana cake person. Anyhow, my dearly beloved husband loves it to the max. To thank him for all his sleepless nights with baby Sarah; I decided to bake him a banana cake!

20120418-231945.jpg

It was sheer torture for him to wait for the bananas to get overly ripe for the cake! Finally the day had come, the baby kept me awake since the wee hours of the morning and seeing that it will not be easy for me to fall back to sleep so soon, it was time for the banana cake to be baked!

I followed the recipe that I got from The Little Teo Chew and got the cake batter into the oven! I always had trouble mashing the bananas; and the recipe called for sifting – ah the laziness in me.

My banana cake was done in approximately 30 minutes; the top got brown really quickly. I gave up on tenting it with aluminum foil as it get all sticky with the top of the cake. The cake does seem a little undercooked. The next time; would probably want to do a better job at tenting it and to try for a 40 minutes bake.

But oh the smell of the banana cake baking awoke my sleeping prince. And he didn’t even let the cake cool down nor did he allow me to take ONE photo of the full cake!

He gobbled down 2 slices with his morning cappuccino and I am guessing the cake will not last till night fall. For a non banana cake fan like me; it does taste brilliant. Moist and fluffy!

Another great recipe from my fav blog now – the little teo chew!

Ingredients:

90g oil (I used olive oil!)
90g castor sugar
1 large egg, lightly beaten
125g cake flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 bananas, mashed with a fork
25g evaporated milk or regular milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Beat egg and sugar till light and creamy. Add milk, mashed bananas, oil and vanilla essence and combine.

In a separate bowl, sift cake flour, baking powder and baking soda, and give a quick whisk. Fold in flours into the wet ingredients until no traces of flour remain. Do not over-mix. Stop the moment everything is incorporated.

Pour into a lined 6-inch round tray. Bake at 175 degree celsius for about 50mins, or until cooked.

Till next time.

Jewel

Leave a Reply

